I recently respond to an e-mailed comment about publishing dangerous books by saying that I thought it was probably right to publish, but that one did need to take into account the risk one might be exposing innocent employees to by doing so. I’m glad I don’t have to make these decisions.  Is OUP perhaps going a bit too far by banning allusions to pork and sausages in children’s books (via Publishing Perspectives)? Changing pork to beef probably wouldn’t really affect the narrative arc of the book, though I suppose beef might be problematic in the Indian market.

Simpleton that I am, when I read the headline on the story “OUP bans pork from children’s books” my mind leapt to their ethics policy which after a couple of nasty experiences around the world is now (appropriately) very strict on bribery and other malfeasance.

